• [CEO News]S-OIL holds ceremony for 2023 Dissertation of the Year, Next-generation Scientist Fellowship Awards
  • 2023.11.29

● S-OIL granted a combined 384 million won in fellowships to 30 researchers in science fields, including Math, Physics and Chemistry, etc.  

    - It established the S-OIL Science Prodigy and Culture Foundation in 2011 to promote research in science fields and nurture exceptional talent.   

The S-OIL Science Prodigy and Culture Foundation (President Hong Suk-woo) on Nov. 29 held a ceremony for the 13th Dissertation of the Year Awards and the 5th Next-generation Scientist Fellowship Awards at the headquarters of S-OIL in Gongdeok-dong, Mapo-gu, Seoul.  

At the ceremony co-organized by the Korean Academy of Science and Technology (President Yoo Uk-jun) and the Korea University President Association (President Lee Dae-soon), a combined 144 million won in fellowships were awarded to 12 young scientists credited with outstanding dissertations and 12 supervising professors in six fields: Math, Physics, Chemistry, Biology, Chemical Engineering/Materials Engineering, and IT. In addition, a combined 240 million won in fellowships were granted to six next-generation scientists in six fields: Physics, Chemistry, Bio-medicine, Chemical Engineering/Materials Engineering, IT and Energy.

Awardees of the 13th Dissertation of the Year are as follows: 

▲ Math: Ph.D. Kim Ki-hyun (KAIST), Ph.D. Choe Jun-ho (KAIST) 

▲ Physics: Ph.D. Kim Dong-ha (KAIST), Ph.D. Kim Jin-uk (Seoul Nat’l Univ.) 

▲ Chemistry: Ph.D. Shin Seung-jae (KAIST), Ph.D. Shin Jin-woo (Korea Univ.) 

▲ Biology: Ph.D. Lee Joon-hyuk (KAIST), Ph.D. Kim Dong-yoon (Seoul Nat’l Univ.) 

▲ Chemical Engineering/Materials Engineering: Ph.D. Kim Joo-sung (Seoul Nat’l Univ.), Ph.D. Lee Jin-woo (KAIST)

▲IT: Ph.D. Lee Jung-beom (Seoul Nat’l Univ.), Ph.D. Shin Won-jun (Seoul Nat’l Univ.)

Awardees of the Next-Generation Scientist Fellowship are as follows: 

▲Physics: Professor Yang Hee-jun (KAIST) 

▲ Chemistry: Professor Yoon Hyo-jae (Korea Univ.) 

▲ Bio-medicine: Professor Lee Yun-hee (Seoul Nat’l Univ.) 

▲ Chemical Engineering/Materials Engineering: Professor Sun Jeong-yun (Seoul Nat’l Univ.) 

▲IT: Professor Jeong Jae-woong (KAIST)

▲ Energy: Ph.D. Yoo Sung-jong (KIST)

“The future of Korea’s science is bright since the country has scientists who have gained global recognition by publishing outstanding dissertations in basic science fields,” S-OIL CEO Anwar A. Al-Hejazi said. “S-OIL will keep supporting talented scientists so that they can dedicate themselves fully to research under financial stability.” 

S-OIL has run the independent foundation to back up the development of pure science since 2011, which is rare among private companies. Apart from the aforementioned awards, the foundation operates a variety of programs to support research in science fields such as holding international academic forums on engineering and nurturing exceptional talent.